After 15 years, it’s time to say good-bye (Toy Story 3)

At the tender age of 8 I didn’t care about much. I had my toys, snacks, cartoons, it was a good life. A very good life. My sisters and I got new movies to watch regularly. Believe me our Disney collection is quite impressive. But that’s neither here nor there. One afternoon, most likely after a visit from Costco, we were surprised with yet a new Disney movie. This one was special in many ways, for one it was a a belated gift for my younger sister Adriana, and two, it was the first Pixar/Disney movie. Not that we understand that then, it was just a different looking movie and we were absolutely giddy!
After watching it, we moved it to our favorite movies. Well second favorite. Adriana was on Team Aladdin for life and I was Team Beauty and the Beast. But for us to forgo the others after the first encounter with Toy Story, it was a pretty big deal. We must have watched that movie over and over because I can still recite lines, sings songs and give you a play by play of how Buzz escapes the fall when he tries to show everyone that he can actually fly. So when Toy Story 2 came out a few years after, a part of me was excited but another part, the “cool” 12 year old part, (ps no 12 year old is cool, I was not aware of this then) did not want to have anything to do with a cartoon movie, especially one about toys that was a sequel, we all know the original is always better than the sequel. It’s very fortunate for me that the cool part of me was incredibly small, and could in no way compete with my largely dorky/geeky side. It’s quite dominate and had the “cool” side even thought to make a stand it would have been completely destroyed. My geek side has all the cool weapons and super powers. (Courtesy of Marvel and DC.) I ended up watching Toy Story 2 and loved it! I was right, Toy Story was the better version but Toy Story 2 was still very good and left a mark in my heart. It did feel like the movie left things a bit unanswered. I am in no way complaining about the ending, it was perfect but there was an opening and anything could happen. Maybe another movie? I didn’t know, I would just have to wait and see. But until then I could watch Toy Story and Toy Story 2 as many times as I wanted. I was left completely satisfied.
7 days ago Toy Story 3 was out in theaters and my excitement level was to infinity and beyond and had been since I got news that it was in production, it was actually quite unhealthy. Saturday I was front and center at my local cinema to take part in the joyous moment that had been 11 years in the making. Now being 23 years of age I can appreciate all aspects of this great movie. And it truly was amazing. The storyline was touching and full of emotion that Pixar films are known for. You see the same fears and thoughts we all have growing up in a set of toys. The strong bonds of friendship that the characters have with one another are heartwarming. They are a real family and are there for each other. Regardless of which way the story went and what adventures came up, one thing was constant in the film, the love that all the characters share for each other. And this is something that’s the cornerstone for each of the films, not only Toy Story 3.
I may have only shed a tear or two during this film but it was only because it’s the end of a great journey that I’ve been apart of since I was 8 and even though it was 15 years in the making I still felt like that little girl who was in awe of the animation, the colors, the beautiful story and friends that I loved dearly, the friends I wasn’t quite ready to say good-bye to. But even though it was the end, they would still always be here.

forever a kid,
gabbie

~ by jeanineandgabbie on June 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
