who is your friend?

According to www.merriam-webster.com
a friend is…
1 a : one attached to another by affection or esteem b : acquaintance
2 a : one that is not hostile b : one that is of the same nation, party, or group
3 : one that favors or promotes something (as a charity)
4 : a favored companion

Definitions 1, 2, and 3 can mean that almost anyone can be your friend.

I don’t want to call just anyone my “friend.” I guess when you refer to someone you know, the term “friend” is loosely used.

A friend to me is someone you can count on. We all have obligations but someone you can emotionally count on. A friend is someone who isn’t constantly trying to compete with you, but encourages you to move forward. You can tell her when she looks fat wearing that dress and she won’t hold judgment, she appreciates your honesty and does the same. Being a friend is about all the little things. Its the nice text messages, emails, and wall post on facebook.

One of my friends is Gabbie. She great! I have a couple other friends too, but not too many. Some may think the more the merrier, but not for me. I know who I can count on and who to watch out for 😉

What’s a friend to you?

~ by jeanineandgabbie on April 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
